Thursday, June 01, 2017

July Treasures in My Closet - Part 1

July isn't quite as overwhelming as June was when it comes to books. But, there are still two days worth of books. Let's get started.

In David Bell's new thriller, Bring Her Home, the fate of two missing teenage girls becomes a father's worst nightmare. Just a year after the tragic death of his wife, Bill Price's fifteen-year-old daughter, Summer, and her best friend, Haley, disappear. Days later, the girls are found. One girl is dead, and the other is left beaten and clinging to life. When he searches for answers, Bill's not prepared for the discoveries about his daughter's life, or that searching for the truth will tear open old wounds. (Release date is July 11.)





Saul Black brings us LoveMurder. San Francisco Homicide detective Valerie Hart doesn't expect to deal with Katherine Glass again when she's called to a murder scene. Six years earlier, beautiful, intelligent, charming, and utterly evil Glass had been convicted on six counts of Murder One. But, the corpse bears all the hallmarks of Glass' victims, and there's a note addressed to Valerie. Now, to stop the slaughter, Valerie has no choice but to ask Katherine for help. (Release date is July 25.)





Paradise Valley is C.J. Box' latest. For three years, investigator Cassie Dewell has been on the hunt for a serial killer known as the Lizard King. He's finally in her sights, but when the plan to capture him goes wrong, she's left with no help in finding the brutal killer. (Release date is July 25.)








Janelle Brown's Watch Me Disappear is the story of a charismatic outdoorsy mom, Billie, who disappears, leaving her husband, Jonathan, and daughter, Olive, to fall apart. But, a year later, when Olive starts having waking dreams that her mother is still alive, Jonathan sets out on a quest for the truth. (Release date is July 11.)







Stillhouse Lake  by Rachel Caine tells the story of a woman who thinks she's an average Midwestern housewife, until a car accident reveals her husband's secret life as a serial killer. She remakes herself, changing her name and home, hoping to protect her two children. But, when a body turns up in the nearby lake, Gwen is determined to fight evil and keep her kids safe. (Release date is July 1.)







Alisyn Camerota is a journalist and the author of the novel, Amanda Wakes Up. She knows the news business that she writes about as she tells the story of Amanda Callo who lands her dream job at a big-time cable news station, and finds coping with ratings, hair and makeup, her coanchor, and a hotly contested election season isn't quite what she thought. (Release date is July 25.)






One of my favorite mystery authors, Linda Castillo, brings back Police Chief Kate Burkholder, in Down a Dark Road. When a "fallen" Amish man escapes from prison, he turns to Burkholder to prove he didn't kill his wife. (Release date is July 11.)








"Four sisters. One summer. A lifetime of secrets." That's the blurb for Eve Chase's novel, The Wildling Sisters. Bookpage says it's "For fans of Kate Morton and Daphne du Maurier", the story of four sisters in 1959 at Applecote Manor in 1959, and fifty years later, what seems to be the perfect quiet country home for a mother and daughter. But, strange rumors surround the estate. (Release date is July 25.)






In Hello, Sunshine, Laura Dave tells of a culinary star who seems to have everything, with millions of fans, bestselling cookbooks, and a devoted husband, until she gets hacked and her secrets are revealed to the world. (Release date is July 11.)









Sofia Grant brings us The Dress in the Window. With the end of World War II, women all over the U.S. are shedding their old clothes for gorgeous new styles. Jeanne Brink and her sister, Peggy, had both fathered all the triages of the war. Now, Jeanne creates stunning dresses with the help of Peggy's brilliant sketches. But, sisterly love and sometimes turn into sibling jealousy. Even so, there are surprises ahead that could make, or break, their dreams. (Release date is July 25.)





Van Shaw, ex-Army Ranger and grandson of a thief, returns in Glen Erik Hamilton's Every Day Above Ground. It seems like the perfect job, help a dying ex-con retrieve a fortune in gold. But, someone knows the gold is there, and sets a trap. Now, Van Shaw is in a violent battle against an unknown enemy. (Release date is July 25.)






Christina Henry, the author of the bestseller, Alice, now brings readers another story from childhood. Lost Boy is the story of Peter Pan, and the friend who went from being Peter Pan's first, and favorite, lost boy  to his greatest enemy. (Release date is July 4.)








Judith Rashleigh from L.S. Hilton's bestseller, Maestra, is back in Domina. She's living a life of luxury in Venice, but then her past catches up with her. Someone knows what Judith did. Now, as she faces blackmail, she has to save herself by finding a priceless painting, but Judith is convinced it doesn't exist. And, she's not the only one looking for it. (Release date is July 11.)







I'll end today's list with a memoir, Reading with Patrick by Michelle Kuo. Michelle Kuo ended up in Helena, Arkansas in 2004, volunteering for Teach for America. Kuo shares the story of her complicated mentorship of one student, Patrick Browning, and his remarkable literary awakening. Fifteen and in the eight grade, he thrived under her attention. After she leaves for law school, and then graduates, she returns and resumes Patrick's education as he sits in jail awaiting trial for murder. (Release date is July 11.)

A couple of my favorite authors are on this list. I hope you found something for your TBR pile. If not, come back tomorrow for the second part of Treasures in My Closet.

7 comments:

Grace Koshida said...

Lesa, thank goodness the number of July titles is smallest since I have not even gotten to one of the June titles I added to my TBR list.

Glen Erik Hamilton's Van Shaw books are a good read so EVERY DAY ABOVE GROUND is top on my list. I also like Linda Castillo's books, so DOWN A DARK ROAD is also added.

Jeffrey Meyerson said...

What Grace said. Linda Castillo! Glen Erik Hamilton!

Lori's Reading Corner said...

Bring Her Home was really good! I've never been disappointed by a David Bell Book.

I also have Watch Me Disappear, The Wildling Sisters, and Hello Sunshine in my Mt TBR.

Glen Davis said...

Yep, Glen Erik Hamilton!

Lesa said...

I agree with all of you - Glen Erik Hamilton & Linda Castillo.

Kevin R. Tipple said...

Never have read Mr. Hamilton, but am a huge fan of Linda Castillo and the new one is now on the library deal. So, I am now the proud owner of the 12th spot and they are getting five print copies.

Lesa said...

You should try Glen Erik Hamilton, if you get the chance, Kevin.